Week of Feasts

This Thanksgiving was truly memorable. I can actually say that it was even life altering. My mom and I left the noise of NYC for Dallas, Texas to visit my sister, brother in law and yes, my five nieces and nephews. It had been awhile since my last visit and I can’t believe how rapidly the time flies! My babies are growing up! It was so wonderful to reunite with the immediate family for the feast. It was long overdue, and exactly what the the doctor ordered. There wasn’t a single dull moment and I was so ecstatic and grateful to be there.

Homemade oatmeal cranberry cookies

It was the ultimate foodie vacation. I’ve never spent so many hours in the kitchen as I have during this visit. It was so much fun. Heck, my sister has an enormous kitchen with all the modern appliances. I had no desire to be in any other room in the house, unless I needed to be. The best part about it was that I had an entire batch of miniature sous chefs, all of whom were ready and willing to lend a helpful hand.

We made rice crispy treats, homemade pickles, french toast, chocolate mousse, oatmeal cranberry cookies, scrambled eggs with melted cheese, corned beef hash, roasted twin birds, gourmet garlic rice, homemade apple pie, deep fried “jive” turkey, honeyed ham, turkey stuffing two different ways, just to name a few dishes.

Being in the presence of 5 kids, we were definitely in the minority, which meant that we would be subjected to watch only kid programming, and I didn’t mind. However, I did manage to squeeze in a few episodes of “Chopped” and “Top Chef, Texas.”  I stumbled across some episodes of “Beavis and Butthead” on Netflix, so we watched those too.

Deseray and Destiny preparing chickens for a roast.

Deseray is a 5 yr old who likes black olives and prefers bagels & strawberry cream cheese over a bowl of cereal for breakfast.

These roasted birds turned out to be melt- in -your- mouth delicious! Basted in butter and seasoned generously with garlic, rosemary, thyme, salt and pepper. Stuffed with quartered red onions and lemon. Also served with a side of garlic rice (not shown) and honey roasted carrots sprinkled with sea salt. Lip smacking! They did a wonderful job.

Roasted carrots with a sprinkle of brown sugar, kosher salt and honey. (The pic appears foggy, a little butter smeared on the lense.) 🙂

My niece Destiny and my sister, Emily.

A week of feasts: chicken pot pie

They also have a cute little garden in the backyard that produces a fresh crop of tomatoes and banana peppers.

Freshly picked banana peppers

Freshly picked tomatoes

This was the first time I witnessed a turkey being fried. The result was a juicier, tastier bird. The time was shaved down to a mere 3 minutes per pound. We had a 13lb (my favorite number) turkey, if you do the math, total cooking time was about 40 minutes.

Fry

Ready to eat, crisped to a golden brown. (turkey looks funny to me)

Dominic preparing ground sausage for the stuffing

… a holiday ham, made simply with cloves, brown sugar and honey.

Plus the yummy, traditional typical turkey day sides:

Homemade biscuits and crossaints, cranberry sauce, sweet potatoes, and green beans

corn on the cob, turkey gravy and pasteles (Latin cuisine)

Homemade apple pie, oatmeal-cranberry cookies and pumpkin pie

As I reflect upon last week’s festivities, I can’t help but to feel privileged. I am truly grateful for my life and everyone in it. This is what Thanksgiving is all about. I hope yours was equally as blessed.

2 Comments

Filed under Sexy food

2 responses to “Week of Feasts

  1. All these picture definitely tell me that you had a wonderful Thanksgiving filled with family togetherness and delicious food! Thanks for sharing your wonderful holiday, no doubt it was enjoyed by all of your family!

Leave a Reply

