Love Soup

Along my journeys of the palate, I have explored various dishes and recipes that comfort, heal and exhilarate the taste buds. Food should mean much more than mere flavor. It should have the power to heal the mind and body. Love and tradition should be packed into every delicious morsel.

I came across a book I read last year entitled “Aphrodite” by Isabel Allende and I enjoyed it so immensely, I decided to re-read it. It’s a memoir of the senses. In it she discusses her deep rooted traditions and passion for food and how it can be applied to love. She shares recipes, most of which are aphrodisiacs. It is tastefully written and wildly entertaining. I wanted to share her recipe for a special soup called “Reconciliation Soup” its effects are thought to rekindle love in a couple’s quarrel. This recipe contains three different kinds of mushrooms, and truffle oil which are known to be aphrodisiacs. Try it. πŸ˜‰

“Reconciliation Soup

Ingredients:

Β½ cup of chopped Portobello mushrooms
Β½ cup of Porcini mushrooms
1 cup of brown mushrooms
1 garlic clove
3 tbsp of olive oil
2 cups of stock (any flavor)
ΒΌ cup of Port wine
1 tbsp of truffle olive oil
Salt and pepper
2 tbsp of sour cream

Prep:

Mince the garlic clove and saute with all mushrooms in the olive oil. Season with salt and pepper, add the stock, port and truffled olive oil. Cook over low heat with the lid on until the mushrooms are soft and the house smells like heaven. Last step is to process the mushroom concoction in the blender. Soup should have a slightly thick texture. Garnish with a dollop of sour cream.

3 Comments

Filed under Sexy food

3 responses to “Love Soup

  1. Fran Can

    The soup on this page sounds yummy. I stumbled across it as I was looking for an inspiration piece in order to create a sketch of soup for a logo for a spiritual event for women. I don’t think I could improve upon this image… the polka-dotted bowl with swirls above. It is SO close to what I sketched on a paper at our meeting tonight! Is this a copyrighted image? Are you the creator? If not, do you know it’s source? Is it a free use item? We would not be hoping to sell anything with the image as far as I can forsee … no profit. I would appreciate any help you might be able to offer. Thank you so much!

    • Thank you for taking the time to read my blog. Actually, I stumbled across this image while doing research for this blog post. I didn’t create it, and the image is out there for our use. I am looking for the source right now. I will provide you with the info once I find it. I am more than happy to help, anything for a positive cause. πŸ™‚

    • Hey, I found the image source, go to the aol search engine, and type images of soup, and voila! You should see it immediately. If not just cut and paste it from my blog. Good luck to you. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

