Hunger, be gone

The Face of Hunger
An elementary school teacher was excitedly sharing a lesson on good nutrition with her class. The children were waving their hands wildly as they talked about what they had eaten the night before. She noticed one of the boys was sitting quietly in the back with his head hung down low. At recess, away from the other children, she sought him out to ask what was the matter. He sheepishly explained that he had not eaten the night before. “Why?” she asked.

It wasn’t my turn,” he replied.

* WHEAT copyright 1999

Its very saddening to know that this is not an uncommon issue. Many people from all around the world, and right here in the USA, go to bed hungry, most notably, children.

Hunger Facts

  • More than 600 million people suffer from hunger or starvation.
  • 25,000 people each day die from hunger.
  • 225 million children are stunted both mentally & physically due to a lack of nutrition.
  • 16,000 children die each day from hunger related diseases.
  • Can cause permanent brain damage and impairs individuals from reaching their true potential.
  • The U.S. is the largest provider of food aid.

Personally, the thought of starvation and extreme poverty never entered my mind. Growing up, our refrigerator was always filled to capacity, and I had three square meals each day. I remember having pizza Fridays, and cheeseburger Tuesdays. However, there are millions of other people who suffer from hunger and starvation worldwide. That is a staggering number and brings tears to my eyes when I think about it. I count my blessings everyday and I am ever so thankful.

My new found realizations have pushed me to find ways to help make a difference. I just can’t imagine a life minus the wonderful gift of a healthy & delicious meal. Nobody should ever go to sleep hungry. I want to do everything in my power to help the less fortunate experience the magic of a meal.

A list of charitable organizations dedicated to world hunger issues:

Leave a comment

Filed under Sexy food

Leave a Reply

