Welcome to Food Vixen in NYC’s blog.

Me in Brooklyn Heights, NYC, near The River Cafe, one of my favorite, sexy restaurants by the Brooklyn Bridge

Greetings everyone! Welcome. I wanted to create this informative blog to inspire and share my passion for food & drink. My name is Melissa Rodriguez and I call myself Food Vixen ;). I am an aspiring food writer who has worked in the F & B industry for the past six years and I savor every minute of it. My affair with food all began at the tender age of seven, with french toast and Rice Crispy treats being my first specialties.

NYC is the playground where I go out in search for the latest culinary delight, a hidden gem for a  restaurant, or a spot I picked straight from the Zagat’s guide. I crave a tasty meal and the perfect wine or delicious cocktail to pair it up with.

My inspirations in the realm of cuisine include Bobby Flay, Lidia Bastianich, and, most notably, Anthony Bourdain, from “No Reservations” of The Travel Channel. He takes you on a culinary journey around the world. He immerses himself in the food, drink and culture. Not to mention he is a certified chef, restauranteur, and the author of a literary masterpiece entitled “Kitchen Confidential, Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly.” Tony is a no holds barred, passionate artist. He loves food and eats it for a living, while he travels the globe. My dream job!

I just think food is sexy, period. Everything about a sumptuous dish, the love and meticulous preparation that go into it, the manner in which it is consumed through your mouth while  it quietly nourishes your body and mind. Food is very powerful. I want to share my personal recipes for food & drink, inspired ones, quotes, and my poetic thoughts about it. Soul food, comfort food, happy food, sexy food; the kind of culinary experience designed to draw people close together. Please join me on this journey through the senses of the palate. Feel free to contribute your opinion. My appetite for this subject matter is ravenous.

Little Food Vixen’s first French toast recipe (circa 1989):

For Batter:

  • 2 cups of whole milk
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon of sugar
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla
  • a few dashes of powdered cinnamon
  • whole wheat bread slices (or white if you prefer)
  • butter

Prep:

  • toast the bread slices
  • in the meantime, whisk the batter ingredients until well blended
  • melt one tablespoon of butter in a frying pan
  • dip toasted bread slices in the batter, coat evenly, do not soak
  • add the battered bread to the pan
  • cook until a golden brown color appears on each side
  • when done cooking, top with butter (optional)
  • top with a touch of powdered sugar and some maple syrup

A very comforting breakfast treat. I used to make this special breakfast on Saturday mornings. The tradition remains unchanged. (If time allows)

1 Comment

Filed under Sexy food

One response to “Welcome to Food Vixen in NYC’s blog.

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

